Anne’s List: 10 of the Biggest Assholes in Anime (love or hate ’em!)

There are many types of anime assholes, many of them so completely obnoxious that it is unbelievable anyone willingly interacts with them. Whether intelligent, charming, or brave, these characters give off an air of snobby, sneery, or arrogant prickery. Some are more straightforward, others may be bigoted, stupid, or just unpleasant. One may wonder why no one has murdered them yet, but these characters are reluctantly accepted by their peers, and usually don’t get their comeuppance.

Bando–Elfen Lied

Highly sadistic and anti-social, Bando is driven by a strong sense of honor and obligation. He is a “loose cannon”, threatening and hurting allies for no reason. For example, Bando casually backhands a woman for the hell of it, laughs, and calls her an idiot for “sneaking up on him”. All she was doing was bringing him some tea.

“What the hell’s the point of shooting at targets that don’t scream or bleed? It’s getting old. I’m ready for real people.” -Bando

Chaka–Black Lagoon

A mercenary the Washimine Group, Chaka fancies himself a “Wild West” gunman and is fluent in English. Sadistic, lecherous, and arrogant, he is often seen as an idiot by his peers. Even Revy and Ginji–who are slight sociopaths—are disgusted by him.

“I’ve never met a female gunman before…sleep with me” -Chaka

Envy–Full Metal Alchemist

Envy is a talented executioner due to his/her ability to shape-shift. While not a villain in the purest sense, Envy has no moral compass, and enjoys being bad. He/she enjoys misery, taunts everyone, and does anything & everything to get what he/she wants.

“Are you a moron? Some nice, flowery words and feigned empathy?! You make me sick to my stomach!” -Envy

Excalibur–Soul Eater

Excalibur doesn’t give the impression of intentionally being a jerk, rather it is just an obnoxious result of his eccentric personality. Once wielded by King Arthur, Excalibur’s fame has turned him into a complete narcissist. He is quite insufferable, with a list of 1000 rules you must follow if you want to wield him. Any individual able to tolerate his personality for prolonged periods of time is a true hero.

“Fools! My legend dates back to the 12th century…” -Excalibur

Jin Akutsu–The Prince of Tennis

Akutsu is a violent bully, stirring up trouble wherever he goes. Akutsu hits people from other teams, treats his mother rudely, and humiliates his childhood friend when he calls him out on his behavior. Reluctantly recruited, this former Karate star finds Tennis very dull.

“In the end, this is all that tennis is…It’s boring!” -Jin Akutsu

Kanta Mizuno–Desert Punk

With virtually no regard for human life, Kanta doesn’t care about anyone but himself. Highly professional, and intelligent, he is a talented mercenary. Kanta is very perverted, and is not above kidnapping or bribery if it means sex with big-breasted women. He has no friends, only people who he has known a long time.

“Your mother’s a dirty whore.” -Kanta Mizuno

Kei Kurono–Gantz

Death is not the end for this self-centered, judgemental jerkass. An apathetic, perverted, and all-around unlikable person, Kei Kurono is in many ways a typical high school guy. He gets better though.

“Yeah, so I don’t appear to be the brightest crayon in the box but I still look down on the rest of the world.” -Kei Kurono

Sasuke Uchiha–Naruto

Overcome by his lust for power, Sasuke displays great indifference to his team-mates as well as others, and is very arrogant and boastful. Suffering from both a superiority and an inferiority complex, Sasuke is unwilling to acknowledge when someone is stronger than him, but obsesses when he believes that they are.

“I am on a path the rest of you can’t follow… ” -Sasuke Uchiha

Tomo Takino–Azumanga Daioh

Tomo is loud, crazy, obnoxious, and has an extreme case of ADHD. Nothing she says makes any sense, and her grades are bad (she usually cheats off of her best friends). At least the characters treat her appropriately. They smack her, but not as often as she deserves. However, very deep down, Tomo does care.

“Your breasts are 8cm larger than mine, so move 8cm back.” -Tomo Takino

Vegeta–Dragon Ball Z

In the early stages of Dragon Ball Z, this arrogant prince of the Saiyans is a complete genocidal asshole who constantly insults his teammates. He has an inflated sense of superiority, holding himself above nearly everyone he encounters. Even when siding with earth, he is still a dick to the DBZ cast. Although he does chill out a bit after becoming a family man, he is fairly indifferent to his wife and son. Fighting comes first.

“How can you understand my power? I’ve gone beyond a Super Saiyan!” -Vegeta

Honorable Mentions:

Haruhi Suzumiya. A jerk with a heart of gold. Play to her whims or else.

Laxus Dreyar of “Fairy Tail”. Overbearing, selfish, and prone to make fun of his own comrades.

From left: Mayuri Kurotsuchi, Gin Ichimaru of “Bleach”. Both lack respect for others, and are downright slimy.

Sergeant Kerero of “Sergeant Frog (Kerero Gunso)”. A lovable, but selfish, freeloader.

Did I leave someone out? Your opinions are welcome.

About Anne's Anime Blog

I am an astronomical anime fan. I enjoy watching it, collecting figures & merchandise, assembling models, and attending conventions. California burrito glutton. Let's be friends:)

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Anime and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Excalibur made me laugh. That guy is the pits, seriously. Hideous on the inside and out. Being dapper is his ONLY redeeming factor.

    Also, I need to shake your hand for putting Sasuke on there.

    … Fool!

  2. One of the first characters that pops into my head when I think of anime assholes is Flay Allster from Gundam Seed. “Kira you’re going to fight, and fight, and fight… until you die. It’s the only way I will ever forgive you.” I think that pretty much sums it up…

    Love the Sgt Keroro honorable mention! He is a total selfish ass that’ll do anything for some Gunpla, he is a likeable ass though🙂

    • I agree with you 100 percent. Flay Allster = Big Bitchy Asshole. Hate that chick. But of course someone (Kira) forgave her anyways ( sometimes I wonder if he ever really disliked her at all)

  3. Kei Kurono, an asshole? The boy fights for his team. He’s a goddamn dependable team player and war machine. In my book, team player = not an asshole. And besides, he’s died before to save his friends. In the manga he’s always crying copious tears, readers are afraid of his crying (suspecting that he may be closet gay or something, but thank God he has a girlfriend).

    “Unlikable person”? Well he’s not charismatic, that might be what you’re shooting for. But in all fairness, Kurono is far from being unlikable. OK I’ll admit I don’t remember the old Kurono all the way from ish #1 now. But things have progressed to such ridiculous height, we’re now waging war on an alien spaceship. There are things we don’t dwell on, such as whether your protagonists are assholes. Although this I will posit to you, that all the characters on One Piece are, at one time or another, assholes. But in manga, like in the real world, there are assholes, and then there are real sons of bitches with no redeeming quality whatsoever. And let me tell you, it’s the latter that makes the best drama.

  4. Those comments I thumbed down are spams. You probably don’t have the time to weed them all out one by one. But since I’ve been receiving updates in my email informing me of these “assholes of the internet” (who are even bigger assholes than the assholes you listed above), I thought I’d make a mention here in case people mistake them for legitimate comments.

  5. I tend to be a little forgiving with Haruhi myself, but that’s probably because of my indelible weakness for tsundere.

  6. Yes. Vegeta is an asshole, but, he is still my favourite DBZ character. But when he is an asshole, he is really just one of the biggest (but he’s a prince. What do you expect!!)
    And as for Excalibur, all i need to do is show you three faces: Death the kid, Black Star and that fairy.

  7. Bella Be a Ninja

    *SPOILERS AND A HUGE POTTY MOUTH ALERT*
    I want to expand on Sasuke- GOD WHAT AN ASSHOLE. I LOVE HIM TO DEATH, BUT HE IS A COMPLETE DOUCHEBAG. LIKE, WTF??? SASUKE. “I’M TOO GOOD FOR YOU” “I MUST KILL A CERTAIN MAN” “I MUST BE ALONE ALL. THE. DAMN. TIME.” BULLSHIT. AND DON’T GET ME STARTED ON WHEN HE BURSTS IN WITH HIS LITTLE SNAKE AND GO’S ALL- “I’M GONNA BE THE MOTHERFUCKIN’ HOKAGE” BITCH- NO. AND WHEN HE FINALLY SAYS THAT HE WANTS TO PROTECT THE VILLAGE MOTHERFUCKING ITACHI LOVED, I BET MILLIONS OF READERS WANTED TO EITHER CRY TEARS OF JOY OR SMACK THAT LITTLE ASSHOLE FOR FINALLY GETTING INTO HIS HEAD WHAT ALL OF US HAVE BEEN SCREAMING INTO OUR SCREENS FOR YEARS. FUCK. A LEAST YOU’RE EXTREMELY HOT SHIT SASUKE, OR ELSE I WOULD RASENGAN’ED YOUR ASS A NEW ONE.

    I liked that list, by the way.

  8. This isn’t a person but a group. I think the Celestial Dragons from One Piece are the slime of human existance.

  9. You forgot the biggest one:
    Orihara Izaya He deserves the first place

  10. Light Yagami (Death Note) sure as hell diserves first place in my opinion. Though his intentions were…. sadistically…. good… He still was probably one of the biggest douchebags you could find in anime.

    Also, Claude Faustus (Kuroshitsuji) could have probably made the list….thoughIstillfangirloverhimandIbasicallywanttogiveClaudeallmylolijuices…….
    ……
    ……
    *cough*

    Other than that, I say you hit everyone spot on in the balls. :3
    (Except I want to scream “NO! KANTA MIZUNO IS NOT AN ASSHOLE!”, but I know deep down inside it’s true af….)

  11. Hermes and Kharlan from The Heroic Legend of Arslan are the first ones who come to mind.

    Geez, Hermes, I know Andragoras tried to kill you as a teenager, but that’s no reason to take your anger at Andragoras out on your 14-year-old cousin who wasn’t even born then! That was SIXTEEN years ago, not fourteen. So, just save your anger for AndragorASS.

    And Kharlan…you betray your king (even though he’s an ass as well, I have to say, being he doesn’t even give his own son the time of day) and kill Vahriz, and then try to kill poor Arslan who’s just a kid, and you’re all “It’s best you die, Prince”???? WTF? I’m glad he got his just desserts.

  12. I forgot to mention Ragyo Kiryuin from Kill la Kill. She only had children just to experiment on them to see if Life Fibers would affect them or something. She doesn’t have any remorse for what she does, and doesn’t give two doo-doo’s about her own daughters. She deserves the award for Worst Parent of the Year, if you ask me. Right up there with Hana’s foster parents from Michiko & Hatchin.

  13. The lack of Dio from Jojo’s bizarre adventure is concerning. I mean, he killed Jonathon’s dog by throwing it in a fire simply because it was Jonathon’s only friend, poisoned Jon’s biological father, stabbed his adoptive father (who had also adopted dio), forced his girlfriend Erina to give her first kiss to him and not Jonathon just to ruin his life so he could inherit the Joestar fortune. And that’s just from his childhood, he does so, sooooooo much more later in the series and is just a terrible person.

  14. Don’t forget Louise from the Familiar of Zero… Saito should’ve ran away gosh darn it… would’e been a lot safer..

    I’m serious.. I haven’t watched much of the anime, but hearing about what she has done.. if I was in Saito’s position, I would’ve had her shot..

Leave a Reply:

